Mass defection hits Kano assembly; deputy speaker, 13 others switch to NNPP

Zubairu Massu, the deputy speaker of the Kano State House of Assembly, has defected from the All Progressives Congress (APC) to the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP).

Ten Peoples Democratic Party (PDP and three APC lawmakers also defected to the NNPP. Their defection follow that of former Kano governor Rabiu Musa Kwakwanso, who had earlier left the PDP to realise his ambition with the NNPP.

The lawmakers announced their decision in separate letters sent to the Kano Assembly speaker, Hamisu Chidari, on Friday in Kano.

Uba Abdullahi, the assembly spokesman, said in a statement that the speaker, after receiving the letters.

According to the statement, Ali Ibrahim-Shanono, member, representing Bagwai/Shanono constituency, has also defected to the NNPP.

Similarly, former speaker, Kano assembly and member representing Rano/Kibiya/Bunkure federal constituency, Kabiru Rurum, and member representing Dawakin-Tofa/Rimin-Gado and Tofa federal constituency, Tijani Jobe, also defected from APC to the NNPP.

Others who defected from APC to NNPP are former members representing Kiru/Bebeji, former executive director of the Federal Housing Authority, Abdulmumin Jibrin Kofa, and former presidential liaison officer to the house of representatives, Abdulrahman Kawu-Samaila.


Post a Comment